Adventure cooking

The pork chops turned out fine. And it’s a little embarrassing that I’m bringing them up now after so long. But guys. They were so good. So good that I’m sharing the recipe. And some awful pictures of them.

I dub them, Bueno Pork Chops.

Because that’s the extent of my command of the Spanish language.

Get this: 

1 medium onion

1 can green enchilada sauce

6 pork chops (mine were 73 percent defrosted)

Cumin

Chili powder

Garlic salt

1 small can green chilies

Shredded cheese (I used mozzarella because it was all I had in my fridge)

Do this: 

IMG_3412

Preheat oven to 350. Chop the onion and set aside. Spread the enchilada sauce evenly in the bottom of a 9×13 ungreased baking dish. Add the onions, dispersing evenly. Season the mostly defrosted pork chops with cumin, chili powder and garlic salt on both sides. Place pork chops in the sauce and onions. Spread a spoonful of green chilis onto each pork chop. Put a generous amount of cheese onto each pork chop.

Cover with tin foil and back 35 minutes or until pork chops are done.

I took the foil off and baked it for 5 minutes more. Mostly out of paranoia that my husband would suffer death by undercooked meat.

IMG_3414

Serve with rice. Add a dollop of sour cream to the pork chop if you’re a baby like me and it was too hot.

Bueno.

Needless to say, our adventure cooking is going well. We had some great apples and whipped cream dip for my brother’s endowment. (Which, I can’t take full credit. Or actually any credit. Thank you for the brilliant idea, Kristen Ipson!)

We’ve had lots of grilled cheese and bagels and cream cheese. We did have bourbon chicken, hold the booze. My husband told me he thought I was attractive when I cooked with the wok. He also thought it was delicious. So double win.

Good luck all you adventure cooks! Let me know what recipes you’ve tried. Heaven knows I’m always looking.

Oh, and since I’ve had multiple kind-hearted people ask me, I got the stain out of my white duvet. Phew.

Leave a Reply

